Girls

Late September afternoon.

As they paint my nails

These girls giggle

One 5 (almost 6), one 7;

One mine; one my niece with my red hair.

One hand a deep red (with sparkles);

This would have been my choice and my daughter picked it;

The other hand a pastel purple

A girlie girl color my niece decided on.

My Piper paints fast and messy

And really lays it down thick;

Jenna is slow and dainty

Almost timid, but confident as a princess.

These cousins are more like sisters;

14 months apart

Just like their mothers;

One a girlie girl,

One a Tom-boy;

Funny how two girls

Can grow up

Together

And grow up so

Different.

Leave a Comment

